Some people believe that reading stories from a book is better than watching TV or playing computer games for children. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Hitherto, the globalization has consequence a variety of entertaining ways, and the question of whether reading books bring children more benefits than using high-tech devices or not has been raising public attention. While some people lament that the modern way is better, I oppose this view by giving some rational evidences.

First and foremost, imagination boost is one of book’s benefits that we can not ignore. On science view, the Concrete operational stage of development of kids is critical, so children must have rational way to increase imagination skill. By reading book, they can stand on many character’s perspectives, which makes children not only understand the story deeply but also force them to abstract-drawing a picture of the book. Although applying modern technologies into films and games, it still too pragmatic for kids to fully understand the story and badly affect their cognitive development.

On the other hand, health problems are also taken into consider. A survey in the UK identify that kids who prefer reading book to playing computer games or watching Tv are less likely to have eyes and heart illness. It is conspicuous that the blue light coming from technology devices can damage kid’s health and lead to some foreseeable consequences in future, while book is the opposite. Furthermore, scientist also point out that children can remember more details by reading book than using modern entertainment.