In some countries, many more people are choosing to live alone nowadays than in the past. Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

Modern life indicates an increasing trend that more people seem to prefer living alone particularly in large cities in developed world. In my opinion, this trend could have both positive and negative effects in equal measure.

People who choose to live alone completely have freedom to make decisions on how they live, that they don’t have to adapt to anyone else’s timeable. They can decide how to decorate house with their own style or can sleep whenever they want without fear of affecting other people. Besides, living alone mean they have to do everything themselves such as cooking, cleaning, washing,… this cause an improvement to their independent skills. In this view, it is totally a positive development to live in modern world.

However, living alone style can be considered from the opposite angle. Nowadays the cost of living is higher than in the past so this trend can cause the burden of household bills while they can be able to reduce it by sharing with other people and spend money on other necessary needs. Moreover, people can experience the loneliness, boring lives and lacking of safety. When they get ill, it is difficult to get any help or they can miss out the supportive conversation with family or flatmates. In this sense, the trend towards living alone is a negative one.

In conclusion, the increase in living alone will have both beneficial and detrimental effects on people lives.