In some countries, more and more people are buying imported food rather than buying food produced locally. Why do people buy imported food? What can be done to encourage people to buy locally produced food?

Based on the development of international trade, indigenous residents are likely to get familiar with imported food as a global phenomenon. It deems to be a controversial issue in many nations because this trend leads to the wreck of domestic food products. Therefore, I strongly believe that both the political and individuals have to figure out some optimal solutions to address this problem.

On the one hand, it is comprehensible that there are two prime reasons in this circumstance. The first deciding factor is that many local residents are fond of imported food due to their outstanding quality. In some Asian countries where the quality local food is inadequate or there are still a host of chemicals in food products. Consequently, people have to choose the other items with superior features in order to suppress several detrimental effects to their family’s health. Secondly, there is a common trend in many areas that people prefer foreign goods to the local’s one. Vietnam perfectly exemplified this situation, citizens consumes a tremendous amount of imported food products.

On the other hand, several viable solutions can be implemented to mitigate the aforementioned issue. The authorities may levy a steep tax on imported food as well as financial assistance which are essential to prevent numerous serious effects to domestic goods. As a results, it not only exerts a positive influence on local food but they also boost the socio-economy in their countries. Additionally, indigenous residents should enhance the understanding about this situation. According to many analysis, some experts assert that the awareness of citizens is extremely important to accompany with the development of the country.

To sum up, it is undeniable that both imported and domestic food have their own great potential. I wholly believe that people may advocate the local one in order to maintain the sustainable development of their countries.