In some countries, owning a home rather than renting one is more important for people. Why might this be so? Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

Housing is an essential need to humanity. In some nations, being a house owner rather than being a tenant is more vital for people. There are possible reasons for this, this essay will discuss the probable reasons why this might be so, it will also explain why it is a negative development.

To begin, one possible reasons that favours landlordship is that a house is an asset that appreciate overtime. This is so because, although, constant mentainance is a requirement for a building to survive for decades, its value appreciate overtime. For example, in a survey carried out in 2008 by the National Housing commission in Nigeria, it was estimated that Real Estate Dealers make more than 50% profit from selling a building, and this doubles the actual cost spent its construction. This instance apposite the above claim. Additionally, the comfort and peace of mind derive from being a home owner is immeasurable. Reason being that, the house is designed according to his desires and needs, and most importantly, the landlord spends no money on rent.

Furthermore, the detrimental effect of this development is that the ecosystem suffers the consequences. This is because natural habitats such as the forest, deforestation; dams, filled up with sands and gravels and wildlife are also destroyed. This is exemplified by the research conducted by the National Geography wild and environmental conservation in 2015, it was estimated that in year 2030 lives and property will be disrupted by flood in most countries of West Africa. And that Lagos state of Nigeria will be mostly affected due to the destruction of the environment by man for building purposes.

In conclusion, it is an established fact that shelter is the one of the most basic need of man, and some people feel that owning a house is more important than renting one. This essay discussed the reason for this believe which is the fact that, a house is an asset that appreciate overtime. It also looked into the negative aspect namely, the destruction of ecosystem.