In some countries people spend long hours at work. Why does this happen? Is it positive or negative development?

By all accounts, both white and blue-collar employees in several countries tend to extend their working hours at the workplace. This essay will examine the potential causes of this issue and shed light on the reasons why this trend might exert negative impacts on workers.

Low labour productivity and financial purposes are attributed to the described problem. First and foremost, what motivates employees to overwork is to earn supplement income to afford their essential needs. This is because labour workforces in low-income developing countries have to face soaring goods prices yearly; meanwhile, their salary remains static. As a result, those workers have to work overtime for the sake of increasing their income to pay for these unexpected increase in prices. Additionally, low labour productivity also results in extra work hours among employees. In other words, workers whose productivity at work is under the company’s standard tend to work overtime to meet a daily target assigned by a line manager.

It is plausible that working hours extension might bring about a plethora of detrimental impacts on workers. One of the most irrefutable adverse effects is to put them at high risks of pressure. This is because lack of relaxation stemming from long hours at work might result in shortening their sleeping time, which, in turn, might deteriorate insomnia among workers and therefore might cause severe stress. In tandem with this, what working overtime might result in is the breakdown of a relationship. To be more specific, it is likely that workers who are in a relationship will spend less time with their partner, which might result in a conflict at times and therefore might lead to a breakup.

In conclusion, the tendency to overwork has become increasingly prevalent in society in light of low labour productivity and financial purposes. From my perspective, this trend will trigger grave consequences for workers.