Some people believe that school children should not be given homework by their teachers, whereas others argue that homework plays an important role in the education of children. Discuss both of these views and give your own opinion.

The arguments over the setting of homework differ among people. While some assert that assigning homework to children is an unnecessary task, I am of the opinion that assignment is of paramount importance for young learners.

On the one hand, critics of homework argue that it might exert adverse impacts on children’s mental health. This is because homework will require young learners to devote their evening time to solving various written tasks given by the teacher. This would unnecessarily bring them to a state of prolonged stress due to the lack of time for relaxation such as watching television or enjoying exhilarating outdoor activities. Japanese children, for instance, have to suffer from depression stemming from assignment workload. As a result, young learners in Japan who are encountering mental issues often find schooling less meaningful and are scared of it.

Despite the problems above, I advocate the opinion that setting homework will be beneficial to children’s academic performances at school. To be more specific, homework will bring children a precious chance to consolidate what they have learned at school. This process helps young learners have a deeper understanding of several confusing aspects of the lesson, which could be a great advantage to score high marks during exams. Furthermore, doing homework is a post-learning activity that allows learners to reflect upon their strengths and weaknesses. The self-acknowledgement of what to work on is key for children to steer clear of making repeated mistakes, which will help them handle challenging tasks without much effort.

In conclusion, although setting homework might induce some drawbacks to children, I agree that its importance should not be overlooked due to its significant benefits to children’s academic performances at school.