In some countries, small town-centre shops are going out of business because people tend to drive to large out-of-town stores. As a result, people without cars have limited access to out-of town stores, and it may result in an increase in the use of cars. Do you think the disadvantages of this change outweigh its advantages?

Over the past decades, business shopping has never failed to have public attention and sparks controversies. Although the tendency of people driving to large out-of-town stores is currently increasing, the issue as to whether people without cars have limited access to suburbs stores remains controversial. As far as I am concerned, we cannot deny some of the benefits of this issue which will be analyzed in this essay.

Firstly, it is important to recognize that since real-estate prices are remarkable lower than in city centers, supermarkets located in suburbs have lower operational expenses. As a result, customers are provided with high quality products for more competitive price tags thus saving money for other household costs. Secondly, because a shopping trip to the outskirts could be a family bonding activity, so people who go shopping in wholesale stores are more likely to go with at least another family member due to the fact there are more items that need carrying.

Thirdly, it is equally important to recognize that due to the relocation of shopping malls to large out-of-town, there is no traffic jam or traffic congestion in rush hours or at the weekend. Fourthly, when people drive outwards of the cities for shopping, they bring with them other demands including entertainment and food. Consequently, this tendency contributes to the development of under-privileged areas, partly narrowing the income gap between inhabitants living in suburbs and urban areas.

To sum up, as there are many advantages of increase in going to shopping in out-of-town stores, the government should adopt this form of planning widely around the world.