In some countries, some high school leavers are choosing to work or travel for a period time before going to university. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of those school’s leaver decision. Give your opinion.

After graduating from high school, some students tend to get a job or go on a trip for sometimes before university life. While I accept that there are some benefits and drawbacks of this decision, I will argue that it is better to take a gap year to work or travel.

The option to get a job straight after school is disadvantageous to some extent. The main short coming is that a number of graduating students may start their professional careers later than their fellows who do not choose to get a job or go on a trip after high school. As a result, they will get promoted later. In addition, traveling may cost them a great deal. If they travel right after high school, they will earn no money and have to ask their parents pay for the expense. It is not advisable to take this option.

On the other hand, it seems to me that high school seniors should go to work or travel for a period time because of some undeniable advantages. Firstly, work and traveling are both good chance to gain more valuable experiences. My brother, for instance, traveled to London during his gap year. By spending time in London, he was able to hear, speak, read and write the English language constantly which gave him countless opportunities to improve his English skills. Secondly, taking a year out helps young student clarify their student and career future. They can do various jobs without long-term commitment in this time, and discover what might be right for them.

In conclusion, I believe that there are many advantages for young people who start working or traveling prior to beginning their university studies, although this decision has some notable disadvantages.