In some countries young people are encouraged to work or travel for a year between finishing high school and starting university studies.

Discuss the advantages and disadvantages for young people who decide to do this.

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

You should write at least 250 words.

Nowadays, young people in some countries are encouraged to work or travel for a year between after graduating from high school and starting to study at the university. Some of the advantages will be discussed before the disadvantages are drawn.

First of all, going traveling after graduating from high school can refresh teenagers' minds. Surveys found that students who go traveling will be able to think outside the box after they come back home. As an example for this, one student is lazy, but after coming home from the vacation, he will feel excited to study because there is no load in their mind. Another point is that students can get some new experience in working that they will not get from schools or universities. It has been proven by some experts that working gives more experience to people rather than continue studying at the university. As a result, people will have more experience in doing business.

It might be true that going to work or traveling brings out benefits to students' lives. Nevertheless, it also brings out disadvantage to students. Moreover, studying is more preferable for students to have a better future. Firstly, students who come back from the working field or traveling to continue studying, mostly feel lazy because they need to re-adapt with the studying environment, which is very hard to do. Recent studies show that most people are comfortable in their own journey, thus they will forget anything and only adapt with the traveling. The result is students will get a bad score in their test because they do not want to study maximally. Secondly, students will not have any degree from university if they do not continue to study. It has obvious consequences, such as it will be hard to apply to the company to work. Therefore, students must open their own businesses.

After analyzing both sides of the arguments, going traveling or working can refresh students' minds, but the importance of studying at the university for students' better future is irreplaceable. It seems to me that it is better to continue to study in university, because most universities allow students to do the part-time job, hence the students can also get the experience while they are studying.