Tests and examinations are a central feature of school systems in many countries. Do you think the educational benefits of testing outweigh any disadvantages?

Give reasons for your answer, and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Nowadays, every school in the entire world is focusing on tests and examinations of school systems. Tests obviously bring a lot of advantages to students. However, it also certainly has a negative effect. I support the idea that the benefits of tests are bigger than the drawback ones.

First of all, examinations are forcing students to study. Surveys found that plenty of students only make learning as a formality and they do not enjoy it. Thus, they feel compelled when they are told to study, especially if they have to study the unliked lessons. For example, students who do not like biology usually do not get a high score in that subject due to the displeasure of studying. Even so, students will definitely get a high score in their favorite subject.

It might be true that tests bring out disadvantages to students. Nevertheless, examinations are preferable for better outcomes. Firstly, exams can make students get motivated to study more. It has been proven by some experts that students need to review all of the material in order to get better marks and improve their knowledge.

Secondly, exams help students to study instead of playing or hanging out with friends. Recent studies show that students need to study longer for hard subjects, like mathematics. Therefore, they do not have time to go out with friends. However, this instance makes students have a better attitude, particularly in responsibility, because students need to split time well.

Based on the analysis above, it seems to me that the negative effect of the test is far less than the benefits. The issue of being forced can be easily erased by studying the favourite subject, but the advantages to form a better attitude are irreplaceable. As far as I concerned, students will study more diligently in case they want to pursued their study maximally to their dream school or university.