In some countries young people are encouraged to work or travel for a year between finishing high school and starting universities studies Discuss the advantage and disadvantage for young people who decide to do this

People in some nations encourage teenagers to spend one year to experience the world after graduating high school. This trend is beneficial in some respects, its drawbacks are also significant for the followers at the same time.

On the one hand, a gap year provides huge opportunities for the young to discover their own career interests as they can find the job that is the most relevant through trying a lot of different jobs. This could make them have an exact direction about their majority and future job than their friends. Secondly, young people having a year to work could reduce the financial burden of higher education to an extent. Some people spend this time to experience some part-time jobs, which not only make them gain more real experience but also help them save money for higher education.

On the other hand, a gap year is sometimes so relaxing and enjoyable that students may give up further studies. In one year, young people can do everything they want without limitation so they should not want a serious discipline in an academic environment such as university. In addition, the learning process may be interrupted because people could forget prior theoretical knowledge that they learned in high school after one year. Therefore, they should find more difficulty when coming back to university than others.

In conclusion, despite potential gains, there are more serious drawbacks associated with a gap year such as the difficulties when returning to the educational environment and the problems about the interruption of learning flow. It is highly recommended that teenagers should spend their gap year in the right way to take advantages of it.