In some cultures, children are often told that they can achieve anything if they try hard enough.

What are the advantages and disadvantages of giving children this message?

In some cultures, children are taught that they can even achieve stars if they pursue harder. Although, this message can boost child's motovation but it may also have negative effect on their mental health, which will be discussed in the following paragraphs.

The major factor behind parent's message is to make children believe in thei hardwork so that they push their motivation. Sometimes children just think that the task may be vague, and such encouragement will lift up children's ability to work harder with not giving up attitude. For instance, out-performing one of my friend seemed so arduous for me, when I was in grade eight. If my parents had not told me that I could even win her if i study well, I wouldnot have been so proud on result day. So, the support of parents can definitely make children persistent and will have bright future in the long run.

On the other hand, trying hard might build a pressure on children to perform more than his abilities. As we all hve different abilities, it might affect children's mental health that he is not enough. Further, this lowers the confidence of child because of which he might not be able to perform even simplest of tasks. Due to this reasons, children often fall into bad peers as they cannot share feelings with their parents. Thus, the message might put an unnecessry pressure to a child due to which it may harm his mental health.

To conclude, the teachings by parents can help children to be perseverent for their goal whereas, it can be harmful if they are given unwanted stress without understanding their abilities.