In some cultures, children are often told they can achieve anything if they try hard enough. What are the advantages and disadvantages of giving children this message?

Nowadays, in some nations, young generation are inculcated that they can accomplish everything as long as they work hard for it. This essay will now delve into both pros and cons of this belief.

Through this advice, children are encouraged to possess qualities of being industrious and self-confident. The suggestion emphasizes that the only way leading to success is through hard work, which lays down a foundation for kids’ attitudes and behaviors later. A striking example is that Japanese people were taught to be hard working whenever they do something in their childhood, which triggers them to work relentlessly in order to have a promotion. Moreover, when youngsters are more likely to believe in the relationship between perseverance and triumph, they may also develop their self-esteem in the long term. This is because whenever they succeed, they will feel proud and worth for extreme efforts and time that they have invested into.

On the other hand, there are some drawbacks when people work so hard for their achievements. Obviously, besides high productivity at work in Japan, the rate of suicide there due to stress-related workload is also the highest in the world, for instance. Since Japanese employees are too ambitious with their goals and thus desire to work as much as possible according to the advice, they possibly do not take care of themselves or have free time. Consequently, they are unable to balance between their life and work, resulting in depression and suicide. Additionally, there are some cases when individuals may not be successful with their targets despite their dramatic persistence for it. These people might end up feeling disappointed with themselves and abilities, which could cause them not to have motivation for anything any longer.

To conclude, there are benefits and disadvantages of forming a connection between success and assiduousness for children.