In some cultures, old people are valued more, while in other cultures youth is considered more valuable. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

While some cultures attach more importance to the elderly, other cultures attribute more worth to young people. In this essay, I will argue that the former focus on the elderly's wisdom and experience, whereas the latter concentrate on the physical strength and mental efficiency of the youth. From my point of view, although both views are reasonable, I believe that elderly people merit more credit than youth due to their wisdom.

The elderly constitute a worthy source of empirical knowledge. Their knowledge can be shared, thereby young people can acquire invaluable and unique information. For instance, a 20-year-old musician who questioned a 50-year-old musician is likely to obtain unique and reliable pieces of information because the latter has had more chances to make mistakes and learn from them. Hence, this information can help speed up the learning of the young person because it can prevent and predict possible pitfall while they learn, and so, help them succeed in their career.

On the other hand, young people are generally more receptive to learn new knowledge and physically stronger. Normally, the older a person the weaker their memory and their muscles. For example, militarised countries often use youngsters as a symbol of health and wealth of the country. As well as the job market requires mostly young people because of their ability to tolerate stress, and to acquire and retain information quickly and better than the elderly.

In conclusion, youngsters are more likely to be appreciated for their physical and mental freshness, but the elderly usually carry more wisdom. Personally, I would give greater importance to the elderly because of their rule of guide for new generations.