The main purpose of public libraries is to provide books, and they should not waste their limited resources and space on providing expensive hi-tech media such as computer software, videos and DVDs.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Some people argue that public libraries should not keep multimedia material but only printed books because the former occupies precious space and represent a waste public funds. I strongly disagree with this view because education has changed and multimedia material is needed more and more. This essay will outline some of the advantages that such new resources bring about.

Education has seen a dramatic change over the last 20 years. The majority of teachers these days use power point presentations, and multimedia courses are sometimes more appealing to students than classical printed books. In addition, certain types of software, such as drawing or calculation software, have become essential in certain disciplines, revolutionising and enriching the way in which people learn.

Another point in favour of keeping multimedia material in libraries is that they help save space and may run cheaper than traditional printed resources. For example, one DVD occupies the space of book, but it can store hundreds books, which would occupy much more space if they were printed out. This will help library and people save physical space, and maybe physical strains as electronic books have no weight except for the device necessary to use them. Lastly, electronic books can also help save money as one of these usually costs one third of the printed version.

In conclusion, modern libraries contain many multimedia resources and not only printed books. These multimedia resources make learning more interesting, are necessary for certain fields to develop, and help save physical space and sometimes money.