Many people believe that companies and individuals should pay to clean up the environment in proportion to the amount of pollution they have produced.

To what extent to you agree or disagree?

It is believed that people and firms ought to pay different amounts of tax to clean and protect the environment in relation to the pollution they cause. I totally agree with this view because this would be an effective way to tackle the problem of refuse. In this essay, there will be illustrated the different outcomes which may derive from such a policy.

Pollution is becoming and ever pressing issue in our society, with a great deal of pollution due to pointless packaging. A recent report has brought to light that 80% of the packaging we find is superfluous and should not be found in our products. Most of it is not recycled but goes to landfill, seas or urban areas, polluting the environment and costing taxpayers money.

A further tax on those who pollute the most is likely to help shrink waste production. This is because people will be looking to producing less refuse and save money. More people will probably avoid buying products with too much packaging and probably recycle more of their refuse. Besides, taxing companies on what how much refuse they produce would have a huge impact because of the high amount firms produce. Pointless refuse amounts to billion of tonnes a year, and since it is not necessary, people would try not to produce it if this costs them money

In conclusion, a huge amount of refuse is produced for no reason, jeopardising the environment. Thus, taxing people and companies on the basis of how much refuse they produce can be a good deterrent to help clean and protect the environment.