An increasing number of schools provide tablets and laptop computers for students to use in school, replacing books and other printed materials like exams and assignments.

It is true that many schools now prefer that their students use multimedial devices rather than traditional learning material such as books and whiteboards for their learning. This new style of teaching brings about many benefits for students in terms of flexibility, but there are aslo some negative aspects which can lower the quality of teaching and learning, or endanger student's health.

Technology in education has brought about many benefits in terms of learning, and since the computer became affordable and therefore common in schools, learning has become easier than it was. Multimedial devices such as tablets and computers can make the experience of learning much more interesting. By using the internet, students can now access a great deal of information. For instance, by questioning the internet, a student interested in a specific topic of marine biology can gain information from the whole world, from many teachers and institution, whereby they can extend their knowledge in such a way that would have been simply unthinkable up to a few decades ago. This makes modern students more flexible and able to quickly access many different educational sources.

On the other hand, the use of technological devices may jeopardise the quality of education in some circumstances. This is because although computers are simply exceptional in making gather information far easier than before, they can also be a big source of distraction. For instance, if a pupil surfs of Facebook during a lesson, they are likely to miss important concepts tought, and therefore their learning experience will be negatively affected. Another important aspect is related to the over exposure of blue light emmitted by those devices, which causes retina problems.

In conclusion, the advantages of using multimedial devices in education are clearly beneficial for the majority of students, however, there is a concrete risk that such devices can also be a source of distraction, and be overused, causing eye problems.