In many countries, women no longer feel the need to get married. Some people believe that this is because women are able to earn their own income and therefore do not require the financial security that marriage can bring.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is said that while in the past women felt the necessity to marry somebody, nowadays, this need is no longer felt by women because of the financial independence that women can achieve. I partially agree with this statement because together, cultural changes have also played an important rule in withdrawing many women from getting married. In this essay, the two mentioned points will be discussed with regard to western society.

While 60 years ago having a husband was almost mandatory for a woman, these days the vast majority of women tend to refrain from getting married. Around 70 or 80 years ago, women could not do many jobs that they can now do such as being a teacher, working in a bank, being a scientist, or being a police officer. In the past, women could just earn very little money because they could access fewer and poorly paid jobs, and most jobs required physical strength, so they needed a husband to survive. These days women can have more and well-paid jobs, so they would get married only if they really want to and if this is not an obstacle for their career.

Furthermore, social customs have changed and freedom has become very important. In fact, cohabitation has become more and more popular and this has somewhat replaced the institution of marriage. This phenomenon started around 60 years ago and has been rising dramatically. According to sociologists, people prefer to cohabit for years instead of getting married because they feel freer, whereas being married would be too risky and tight.

In conclusion, in western countries, women have many more job opportunities than in the past, so they no longer need to get married in order to survive. In addition, cohabitation is preferred to marriage because this makes women feel freer and less tight.