Nowadays more and more people want to live by themselves. What are the reasons? Is this a positive or negative trend?

It is said that the number of people who prefer living on their own to living with others is skyrocketing in western countries. In this essay, I will discuss the transition from rural communities to modern industrial cities and the rise of economic development. From my point of view, such a trend is quite positive.

After the industrial revolution society has changed. Many people moved to cities to find a job and start a career. The number of marriages has dropped dramatically because professional development comes now before marriage. And while the former is still dropping, the number of divorces has risen. According to statistics, the majority of solo households are divorced or single people. Thus, this social change has contributed to the rise of solo dwellers. In addition, due to the rise of economic wellbeing, more people can now afford to live on their own. In fact, according to economists, single-person households spend 153 per cent more on rent than those who live in shared houses.

There are some good points in living alone. Firstly, despite the common belief that solo dwellers are lonely, there is evidence that they have more social connections and no less happy than those who are married. Secondly, because the rise of solo dwellers is directly related to the rise of economic wellbeing, I would assume that the former is a positive happening. Lastly, the number of marriages has dropped dramatically, and there is a positive correlation between the rise of solo dwellers and cases of women victims of domestic violence. Hence, I would see the rise of solo dwellers as a positive thing.

In conclusion, cultural changes and economic wellbeing have led many people to live by themselves. Marriages have dropped and solo dwellers have increased. I believe that this trend is positive because it is directly related to wellbeing and inversely related to domestic violence.