Some education systems make students focus on certain subjects at the age of 15, while others require students to study a wide range of subjects until they leave school. What are the benefits of each system? Which do you think is a better educational system?

In today’s world, most countries have shown great concern about education systems. When this issue comes into view, there exist many conflicting opinions. Some systems require students to concentrate on some fixed subjects when they are 15 years old. Meanwhile, others force students to study a large number of subjects until they leave their schools. Both of the views have their own merits which require careful consideration.

To begin with, some educational systems force their students to study some specific subjects when they are at the age of 15. One benefit which this type of systems can bring is that students following this method can have expert knowledge in their subjects to participate in many competitions of knowledge over the world. For example, in Vietnam, students in Lam Son gifted high school are divided into nine major subjects. Consequently, many students there won international prizes in their major subjects. Therefore, students conforming to this system are able to achieve great studying success in their lives.

On the other hand, other systems oblige students to learn many sorts of subjects until leaving school. The most frequent plus side of this educational method is that students abiding by these systems could have a foundation regarding to many fields in life. For this reason, they are able to get a job easily in the future. In reality, there are mandatory subjects which are taught in the US high schools such as: Science, Mathematics, English and Social Science. As a consequence of this, there is a high proportion of students graduating US high schools got admitted to multinational companies worldwide. As this example has shown, the positive impact of this kind of education system cannot be denied.

Given the aforementioned points, it may be concluded that the educational system relies on certain subjects, as well as others dependent on many subjects, has particular advantages which are undisputed. However, from my perspective, I am of the view that the education system with many different subjects is better than others with specific subjects.