Some people think that secondary or high school students should be taught money management because it is an important life skill. Do you agree or disagree with the statement?

In today’s world, it is thought that students in secondary or high school should be taught money management skills, which is relatively essential. From my point of view, I remain unconvinced with this view.

To begin with, the most frequent factor contributing to my opinion is that in this day and age, students have to acquire a large amount of knowledge from different subjects during the time they study at school. Therefore, there is no sufficient time for them to study money management skills. One example to support this view is that in Vietnam, both students in secondary and high school have to study thirteen subjects during seven hours at school such as: Mathematics, Physics, Chemistry and so on. For this reason, it is obvious that students will not have any time to learn this skill.

In addition, one explanation to support my view is that studying this skill is a waste of time because children have no practical use for this skill. In fact, in Vietnam, parents just give their children a small amount of money to meet their immediate demand such as breakfast or nosh. Consequently, there is no need for children to study this skill when they are in secondary or high school.

Given the aforementioned points, it may be concluded that it is unnecessary for secondary or high school students to study this skill. As a consequence of this, I am of the view that students in secondary and high school do not need to study money management skills.