Some education systems make students focus on certain subjects at the age of 15 while others require students to study a wide range of subjects until they leave school What are the benefits of each system Which do you think is a better educational system

Apart from bureaucratic strategies, market goals and environment initiatives, education has been the topic of interest for many country leaders due to its paramount importance to the nation's future. In some countries, secondary students are purposefully directed toward specific subjects while in other parts of the world, the doors are left wide open for students to choose their own paths. Each of these systems has pros and cons, which will be discussed in the followings.

To begin with, sole emphasis on a subset of subjects would mean that the government's education budget could be effectively invested on perfecting the curriculums, teaching methodologies and the essential facilities, which, in return, helps to save a lot of resources. On top of that, the more time the students getting exposed or learning the subject, the better and skillful they become at it. This does not only ensure the source of skilled labors for certain key industries but also foster the development of those fields.

On the other side, people in nowadays take high regard on individualism that focus on the self-discovering of each personal so that they can bloom with their full potential. A prime example of this would be the US's education system as children have career orientation classes that help to introduce them to a variety of profession, such as cooking and drawing, in early stages of primary and secondary school. As a result, students become more self-aware of their own capabilities by trying different fields, which helps them to be more versatile and resilient in an ever-changing world. Besides, the teachers are also more likely to discover the gifted one in unpopular field like sports and arts that they can focus on nurturing and foster those talents.

In short, I believe that in the world where more and more occupations are being taken over by robots, a holistic education system that emphasize discovering and foster personal creativity would be a better edge in the long run.