Some employers offer their employees subsidised membership of gyms and sports clubs believing that this will make their staff healthier and thus more effective at work Other employers see no benefit in doing so Consider the arguments from both aspects of

On the one hand ,such a contribution to the health and effectiveness of workers can be underestimated , at least because of the money spent on the job training or day release programmers. Instead it could be spent on something more important . For example :on pay increment , financial rewards , bonuses or incentives which can have a greater impact on the performance and heath of employees. On the other hand , ongoing training can be beneficial. First of all, because of the heath improvement, workers can be fitter and less stressed . This means that ,the level of output and service will be higher. Moreover , life balance of the staff will hopefully improved. For instance , if they do not feel any health problems ,it may lead to better job satisfaction which is itself motivational factor.

Overall ,while heath – related subsidies are very attractive , over-focusing on these programs can be harmful. Money spent moderately on the ongoing training can be beneficial for the company.