Some experts believe that it is better for children to begin learning a foreign language at primary school rather than secondary school Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages

Traditionally, children have begun studying a foreign language at secondary school, but introducing them earlier is highly recommended by some educationalists. This policy has been adopted by some educational authorities and schools, which I believe produces both positive and negative outcomes.

The obvious strength of this is that young children accumulate languages much more easily than teenagers. Their brains are still programmed to acquire their mother tongue with a high level of language aptitude, which also facilitates the process of learning new languages. Another plus point is that pupils, unlike adolescents, are not inhibited by shyness and self-consciousness. In fact, they are conventionally allowed for a communicative, play-centered approach rather than a grammar-focused one, thus they maintain great and consistent enthusiasm and progress. Thanks to this, their curiosity and command of the language in later life are boosted, which encourages their further pursuit of languages in the future. The language closely links to culture, therefore, earlier exposure to foreign language may also gain a better understanding of other cultures, forming a better understanding of the surrounding world.

There are, however, some unavoidable weaknesses. Primary school teachers are generalists, and may not obtain competent language skills as well as intensive language-related issues themselves. The required language competence for primary school foreign language teachers in Vietnam, for example, is B1; hence, they may lack thorough, intensive knowledge related to not only language itself but also the accompanying culture. Besides, if primary language teaching is not standardized and synchronized, secondary schools could face a great variety of levels of language proficiency, resulting in a classroom experience that undoes the earlier gains. This may debilitate students’ primitive enthusiasm and willingness to learn. However, these issues can be addressed strategically within the policy adopted.

In conclusion, being exposed to a foreign language earlier vastly contributes to fostering children’s passion for language and culture discovery. Young children’s innate abilities should be harnessed to make these benefits more achievable.