Some museums and art galleries charge admission fees, while others have free entry.

Do you think the advantages of charging for admission outweigh the disadvantages?

It is argued that museums and art galleries should collect money from selling tickets to visitors. This essay will outline that the merits of charging the individuals who want to enter the facilities outweigh the drawbacks.

On the one hand, collecting entrance fee from visitors can help the development of the museums and art galleries. The main reason is that the maintenance and expansion of the organizations cost tremendous money as the revenue of admission is one of the most important and stable cash flow for funding. In addition, there are some people who regard museums are just the free places with air-conditioner to spend all day there, doesn’t be really interested in the exhibition and might disturb other visitors. Therefore, it is necessary to manage the number of this kind of visitors by avoiding free entry policy.

On the other hand, the main drawback of charging admission fee is that it might reduce the number of citizens, such as students or teenagers, who have less income. However, this could be avoided by price discrimination. For instance, it can offer specific discount to individuals who offer their student card or provide ID card to prove they are less than 22 years old in the ticket stand.

In conclusion, I believe that the benefit of collecting admission fee, in terms of maintenance and management of unwelcome guests, outweighs the downsides. Additionally, the drawback of reduction of needed visitors such as students and teenager can be avoided by offering price discrimination policy