Some people believe that visitors to other countries should follow local customs and behaviour. Others think that the host country should welcome cultural differences.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Some individuals think that tourists should accept the tradition of local citizens when traveling to different countries, while others might argue that local habitants should embrace cultures from overseas. This essay will discuss both points of view and provide my personal thought.

On the one hand, advocates are likely to content that visitors can have extraordinary journeys if they are willing to enjoy and experience how the locals live. For example, western individuals usually use forks or spoons rather than chopsticks as tools for eating. When they go Asia where chopsticks are the typical equipment for eating, some might choose to avoid having dinner in Asian restaurants because of the unfamiliar dinnerware. However, it is a pity to doing so since they may lose the opportunities to have an exotic dinner which may be rare in their home country.

On the other hand, others may argue that once host countries adopt the differences from other cultures, the local tourism industries will benefit from the change. One major reason is that it will attract more travelers if there are less cultural barriers and if everything is similar to what they understand. For instance, if natives in a non-English speaking country learn how to speak English, it will let English speaking visitors feel more comfortable and convenient when traveling, boosting the numbers of the tourists to spend more time there. Additionally, foreigners can save their time in looking for eating place if there are enormous restaurants from their countries on the street.

In conclusion, I think both sides of the arguments have their merits. On balance, in my opinion, I believe that tourists should try to embrace the different ways of living when traveling to other nations since experiencing the other culture is one of the main purposes of the journey.