Some people think that there should be strict laws to control the amount of noise a person makes because of the disturbance it causes to people.

Discuss the advantages and disadvantages.

It is argued whether the council should strictly limit the amount of noise produced by individual by regulation to prevent it disturbing the others. This essay will outline the merits of formulating a strict law and its drawbacks.

On the one hand, the advocates are likely to think that a strict regulation is the most efficient way to force habitants avoiding to make noisy sounds which might affect their neighborhood. One main reason is that people are afraid to be punished if the penalty is extraordinarily high. Additionally, authority can take real action when someone in the community keeps producing annoying sounds, solving the problem more quickly. For example, police can warn the citizens who break the rule by giving a great fine if he doesn’t stop disturbing his neighbors.

On the other hand, the major disadvantage of making a strict law is that the process of formulating is time wasting. For instance, it is hard to define what unfriendly sound that brings uncomfortable feel to everyone is. Therefore, the congressmen may spend precious time in debating such small issue rather than on other crucial trouble such as severe traffic jams in downtown. Furthermore, it is time consuming for officers to implement the law due to the difficulty of tracing who is making the invisible sound.

To conclude, the benefits of the tight regulation on noise are that it prevents residents to break the rules and gives police the power to keep the environment quite; however, the downsides are waste of the time on not only formulating but also executing it.