Some organizations believe that their employees should dress smartly. Others value quality of work above appearance.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

While some argue that establishing a dress code at work is not vital since it does not directly influence work productivity, creating a dress code policy, in my opinion, is to an extent beneficial not only to employees but also to the work in general.

Some people think wearing a uniform irrelevant to one’s work performance and will not generate any positive effect in the workplace. this can be true since what you are wearing is something that does not play a direct role in most of the things you do at work. Take for example an office worker who spends most of the time at a computer or his desk in a small office. Whatever he wears, may it be formal, casual, or semi-casual, it does not change the level of his productivity. Programmers are another genuine case of this opinion who need to operate in a quite casual and relaxed work environment furthermore wearing a formal outfit may affect their efficiency negatively.

However, there are other jobs where one’s outfit, I think, may make an impact. Upfront workers, such as receptionists, should be presentable enough to receive customers or guests. another good example is those people who meet others face-to-face wherein one’s attire may leave either good or bad impressions. this is especially true among businessmen. In these situations, even though how you present yourself with your fashion preference may not directly affect how you carry out your responsibilities, it could affect social interactions which are essential in such jobs.

In conclusion, although one’s apparel preference or dress code at work does not directly influence productivity, its relevance is worth considering depending on the nature of work.