Some parents buy their children a large number of toys to play with.

What are the advantages and disadvantages for the child of having a large number of toys?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Write at least 250 words.

It's true that there are many parents purchase numerous toys to their children. However, this becomes an arguable situation - whether or not children own plenty of playthings. On the face of it, the advantages seem most obvious, but could there be a downside to this phenomenon too?

Some people consider that it's lucky of children have many toys. Interesting things to play with stimulate many positives in the young boy or girl, such as optimum brain development, hand-eye coordination and color recognition, apart from the simple joy of playing. Moreover, more toys now are designed to be educational as well as fun. Through concerned selection of toys, it can speed up children's acquisition of numbers or the alphabet.

Nevertheless, there are some people hold that it's detrimental of giving kids multiple toys. For one, wealthy parents might spoil their kids by showering their son or daughter with toys, resulting in a negative effect on their children's character. For another, a kid's consideration span may suffer if he/she is surrounded by many tempting objects, so that they can't focus on any one game for a decent length of time before distracted. On the social side, older children may become targets of envy from classmates, if they are perceived as having far more possessions than their peers.

To sum up, whether or not buying children a plenty of toys depends on what parents wanna give to their kids, either entertainment only or combine entertainment and study together. However, it's significant to select suitable toys to kids, but not just drop them playthings in bulk.