Some people argue that it is not wise for an industry to replace its experienced but old workers with new and young yet inexperienced individuals To what extent do you agree or disagree
In the past people often worked in their businesses until they died or were no longer able to
continue, whereas today most industries have set a definite retirement age for their employees. I
personally disagree that replacing elderly staff with young recruits would be unwise.
First and foremost, a large majority of workers lose their strength as they become older. This is
mainly because the human body has limits and working for a long time, say, 30 or 35 years, can
affect it negatively. For example, young industrial workers tend to work for five to six hours
before they take breaks while older ones usually need to rest every one or two hours. This means
that productivity levels would certainly decline.
Furthermore, new employment opportunities for young people are very limited. Most companies do
not offer more than a few new jobs every year and try not to increase their staff members
dramatically to keep expenses low. Consequently, they should definitely lay off some of the older
personnel to make room for youths, especially those around 20 to 30 years old who are about to
form families and support them. (69 words)
Finally, although some people might argue that the experience and skills of old workers would be
lost when they retire, they should remember that this experience is mostly with old or outdated
equipment and technologies. As a result, it is less likely that their employers will need their
abilities in the long run and younger workers can be trained to work with modern machines such
as computers and lasers.
In conclusion, I believe companies need to force their elderly workforce to retire and employ
younger workers to replace them.