Some people argue that it is not wise for an industry to replace its experienced but old workers
with new and young yet inexperienced individuals.
To what extent do you agree or disagree?
Nowadays, almost every company tends to retires its employees once they have reached a certain
age. I completely agree with this practice and believe elderly staff need to be replaced with
younger workers despite the difference in their work experience.
First and foremost, a large majority of workers lose their strength as they become older. This is
mainly because the human body has limits, and working for a long time, say, 30 or 35 years, can
affect it negatively. For example, young industrial workers tend to work for five to six hours before
they take breaks while older ones usually need to rest every one or two hours. This means that
productivity levels would certainly decline.
Furthermore, new employment opportunities for young people are very limited. Most companies do
not offer more than a few new jobs every year and try not to increase their staff members
dramatically to keep expenses low. Consequently, they should definitely lay off some of the older
personnel to make room for younger ones, especially those around 20 to 30 years old who are
about to form families and support them.
Finally, the experience and skills of old workers is usually out of date. They might have a lot of
experience with old technology and machines, but their employers constantly need to upgrade their
equipment and methods. Therefore, it is less likely that old worker’s abilities are necessary in the
long run, and younger workers who know how to operate modern machines such as computers and
lasers can replace them.
In conclusion, I think companies need to force their elderly workforce to retire and employ
younger workers to replace them to improve productivity, have up-to-date workers and provide
jobs for young people.