Some people believe that allowing children to make their own choices on everyday matters (such as food, clothes and entertainment) is likely to result in a society of individuals who only think about their own wishes. Other people believe that it is important for children to make decisions about matters that affect them.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

How much freedom children should be given to make their own decision is a widely debated topic among parents. Some believe that, if children start deciding for themselves, they would become more self centered. However, others opine that children have right to make a choice as far as they are concerned. I think sometimes parents should leave children to choose for them, yet other time they should interfere, if they think that choice is not going to take them in right path.

On one hand, a part of crowd accord that, it is pivotal for children to decide for their everyday matters, since maximum parents are working nowadays and unable to stay with their children for the whole day. For instance, my sister and her husband are employed, so my neice has to get ready for her school by her own. Not only that, she also has to choose her dress and make every little dicisions regarding day to day activities. Making their own dicision is not only important for them in their present time, but also will help them in future to make wise choices regarding significant aspects of life.

On the other hand, others claiming that, the much freedome will be given to children, the more they will become self centered. Since if children is free to decide for all the matters for themselves, there will be a great chance for them to become egocentric and avoid caring about others. Moreover, they will start dominating others by imposing their decisions, and consequently it will become difficult for them to work in a group and make friends. Hence, becoming decisive would put a detrimental impact on the personality of children as well as affect their relationship with others.

In summary, there is no doubt that freedome to make own choices is the right of an individual. I believe, generally, parents should provide opportunity to their kids to make minor decision along with teaching them to not harm the feelings of others, however they should restrict their choices in some crucial aspects of life.