Some people believe that allowing children to make their own choices on everyday matters (such as food and entertainment) is likely to result in a society of individuals who only think about their own wishes. Other people believe that it is important for children to make decisions about matters that affect them.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Freedom of choice among children has become a source of controversy recently. While there has been a common belief that children should be given the liberty to choose what they want on a daily basis, I would argue that they should only be allowed to decide on subjects that are related to them.

It is encouraged that children who are given self-control on daily matters at a young age would turn out to be independent later in life. The first reason behind this is that by taking the initiatives in everyday's life, the child can improve its critical thinking and develop its taste and preferences. As a result, its decision-making process can be fastened when he or she faces with more complex issues in the future. On top of that, giving them the control can help children in their self-exploring process. Being born in the world full of diversities, kids should be given freedom to embark on their journeys to discover their true selves. For example, when being asked which food do they want to eat, the child can decide what they want and develop their own tastes on food.

On the other hand, from my point of view, youngsters should only make choices with regards to themselves. Since they are not matured enough, they can be tempted to behave falsely like eating junk foods instead of nutritious meals. Therefore, it is the parents' role to give them guidance and instructions base on their experience. In this circumstances, freedom to make small decisions like which pet to have among the options given by the parents is a great start for the kid. This under-control freedom will still make room for children to grow as well as keeping them away from distractions and negative influences.

For the above-mentioned reasons, from my perspective, it is advisable for parents not only to give their kin permissions to decide on relevant matters but also keep close eyes on their choices.