Some people believe that allowing children to make their own choices on everyday matters ( such as food, clothes, and entertainment) is likely to result in a society of individuals who only think about their own wishes. Other people believe that it is important for children to make decision about matter that affect them.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion

It has always been a hot issue whether or not children should be given the freedom of decision on daily activities. While some people condemn this idea as they believe it will consequently lead to a society where people only care about themselves, others find it essential to allow children opportunities of deciding on what is prominent to them. On this essay, I will expound both views providing relevant examples.

On the one hand, it is possible that children will become self-indulgent when parents allow them to decide on regular purchasing. First, children will lose the sense of responsibility as a member of society. For instance, majority of the children will spend their entire time on video games if they are given the green light which will ultimately make them care less about what’s going on with the world and their responsibilities as a moral citizen. However, it is necessary to look at both sides of the argument.

On the other hand, the multi-folded benefits of allowing children to decide for themselves cannot be ignored. Children will soon turn into adults and adults everywhere have to decide on plenty of things on a day to day basis. Permitting children to decide on everyday matters will develop their decision-making skills. For instance, children when they are allowed to select a video game from myriads of options available, they have to choose one that they will enjoy the most. In addition, children will learn about the consequences of their actions. That is whatever decision they make will have a chain of cause and effect that will determine their future. For example, if parents allow children to have a haircut of their choice, children will have to deal with the same hair cuts for months and that includes the praise or mockery that comes along with it.

To sum up, it is always a tough decision for parents to either allow children to decide for themselves or not as each side has its own series of advantages and disadvantages. If I were to given an opinion, I would incline towards allowing children rights of choice as children learn valuable life lessons.