Some people believe that the best way to improve road safety is to increase the minimum legal age for driving a car or motorbike.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is believed that the most reliable solution in address traffic accidents is to raise a higher age limit for drivers and riders. However, the question of whether this is the optimal method to improve our current traffic situation or there are much better measures to reduce traffic accidents is one that cannot be answered easily.

To begin with, raising the minimum age to drive does indeed address one of the leading causes of traffic accidents. Many of the mistakes in driving resulting from the young drivers, who usually not understand the serious consequences of their actions or to be responsible for what they caused. By raising the age requirement for car driving and motorbike riding, we could reduce the number of inexperienced, lack of caution and patience on the road, and therefore lower the death toll associated with traffic accidents. Nevertheless, this approach is only effective to a limited extent, due to the fact that nowadays many youngsters still drive without a driving license, which makes this solution presumably lack effectiveness in real life.

On the other hand, I would argue that there are more efficient methods for ensuring road safety. The first one is to have stricter punishments for driving offenders and therefore raise people’s awareness about the law. For example, people who break traffic rules should be required to pay huge fines or be sentenced for longer prison time for very serious offenses. Another potential solution is to encourage people to use public transport rather than private vehicles. This can be done by reducing the price and increasing the frequency of buses and tubes to make it more appropriate for users.

In conclusion, apart from increase the minimum legal age for driving a car and motorbike, I believe a more suitable approach would be a combination of multiple changes in different aspects of traffic that can lessen all the causes of traffic accidents.