Some people believe that certain old buildings should be preserved more than others. What types of old buildings should be preserved? Do you think the advantages of preserving old buildings outweigh the disadvantages?

Some people think the preservation of certain old buildings should be prioritized more than others. Although some types of buildings should be preserved because of their importance and impact, I believe that its disadvantages outweigh its advantages for several reasons.

Due to their significant impact, some types of old buildings need to be protected. The first type is the buildings that embody cultural and historical values because they represent a country’s identity and history of development. The second type of old buildings is those that represent unique architectural styles, which have the potential to attract tourists. A notable example of these buildings is the Imperial Citadel of Thang Long, a tourist attraction in Hanoi that holds significant historical values.

Preserving old buildings can have both advantages and disadvantages. Firstly, these buildings can be educational sources for students to learn about their country’s history since they were one of the remnants of the past. Secondly, these ancient attractions can positively contribute to a country’s economy by increasing tourism revenues. Hoa Lo Prison Relic, for instance, is a famous tourist attraction in Hanoi, attracting both foreign tourists and local students.

Despite the impact on education and tourism development preserving old buildings has, the disadvantages matter more. First, the restoration of these buildings can be expensive, especially for developing countries. To renovate the old architecture without ruining the ancient appearance, contractors need suitable materials. However, these materials are often expensive since they have become rare and might need to be imported from overseas. This could cause difficulties for developing countries not to exceed the estimated budget for old building reconstruction. Moreover, reconstructing old buildings can affect urban aesthetics as it takes a long time to completely improve the damaged conditions. Once urban aesthetics are ruined, tourism cannot thrive due to visitors losing interest in places full of ongoing constructions.

In conclusion, old buildings that represent cultures, history and improve an economy through their revenues deserve to be restored. However, the drawbacks of cost and urban aesthetics outweigh the benefits.