Some people believe that children should do organized activities in their free time while others believe that children should be free to choose what they want to do in their free time. Do you agree or disagree?

No matter how old a person becomes, reminisces of childhood plays never fails to bring a bright smile on their face. However, people have distributed opinions on these plays; some are in favour of individual games whereas others prefer group activities. This essay agrees that organised activities are ultimately superior to playing alone as it not only builds their personality but also prepare them to work as a team in their professional life.

First of all, team-based games enhance children’s interpersonal skills as well as character. This is because during such activities players have to communicate effectively in order to execute their game strategy soundly. In addition, even if they lose a game, they learn to handle failures and keep working hard to be better at their craft which in itself is a great life lesson. For instance, Michael Jordan, a renowned basketball player, asserted in one of his interviews that it was the game that made him an optimistic person in real life. Indeed, these games have the ability to carve players into positive and hardworking beings.

Secondly, group-based games enhance the sense of working as a team instead of being an individual hero. In other words, whenever a team wins a football, cricket or baseball match it is a result of a combined effort rather than only a one man’s show. During these matches, children work in organised group as well as trust each other that makes them a perfect team player and instil the habit of working as a team. This quality certainly makes them ready for their future life since, in the corporate world, they have to work in groups to carry out projects and research work. Whereas on the other hand children playing alone in their backyard would remain foreign to these valuable lessons. Therefore, parents and teachers should encourage their children and students to partake in these games.

To conclude, children should be encouraged to participate in organised activities as it can enhance their cognitive abilities along with their character.