Some People Believe That Competitive Sports, Both Team and Individual, Have No Place in the School Curriculum. How Far Do You Agree or Disagree? Give Reason for Your Answer and Include Any Relevant Examples from Your Own Knowledge or Experience.

Along with the development of technology, people appear to become lazy in playing the sport. As such, many people generally hold that competitive sports are not as important as before in school curriculum. Personally, I believe that competitive sport still plays an important role in the school. This essay, therefore, will discuss several reasons for my argument.

Take my university’s curriculum as an example, besides other major-related courses, students are required to complete two out of eight physical courses in order to accomplish their programs. These eight physical courses are aerobics, cheerleading, swimming, basketball, martial art, football, tennis and baseball. These are the sports can be played either individually or with a team.

As regards to children in primary schools, they are also in the same situation. Although nowadays parents tend to aim their children to learn other skills such as ballet, piano or foreign languages, they also perceive that sport is essential in helping their children’s health. Thus, they are willing to pay more so that their children can attend an expensive school with sufficient facilities including sport center. For instance, a northern Vietnam primary school recently has announced the updated tuition fee after the school invested in the series of modern facilities for training sports. Surprisingly, there is a significant increase in the number of pupils who registers to attend this school.

To conclude, competitive sports are not losing their place in the school curriculum as some people believe. By contrast, it is one of the major concern of both society and individuals.