Some people believe that computers are more a hindrance than a help in today's world. Others feel that they are such indispensable tools that they would not be able to live or work without them.•In what ways are computers a hindrance?•What is your opi

Computers have gained popularity among people of all ages. However, it is argued by some that they are an obstacle, whilst others believe that they have made life to be more bearable. In this essay, I will discuss ways that a computer can become a hindrance.

Though computers have a number of benefits, there are disadvantages associated with them. Firstly, they provide a vast array of entertainment, from video games, movies to various social networking sites. These are addictive in nature and most individuals will spend hours glued on the screen. This means less productivity, less exercise and even less time with family members. Consequently, obesity ensures along with associated diseases such as hypertension, coronary heart diseases and families are destroyed respectively.

On the other hand, computer technology brought about advances in engineering and most machines or menial tasks which could be done manually are now automated. Thus, many have lost their jobs as the computers took over. For instance, my uncle was laid off work from a bakery when a machine which could mix dough automatically was brought in.

In conclusion, despite the numerous advantages of computers, they have drawbacks where some though could be avoided. One can limit the time spent behind the computer and have quality family time and also exercise as well as do the requirements for the day. However, unemployment is inevitable in the wake of automation as they increase productivity.