In spite of the advances made in agriculture, many people around the world still go hungry.Why is this the case?What can be done about this problem?

Owing to technological revolution in agriculture, the world is currently producing more than one and a half times enough to feed the entire planet. However, many people are still being affected by poverty and hunger. This essay will discuss the causes of food insecurity and the solutions to this problem.

Recent reports state that as a result of advancements in agriculture, the world is producing enough food to feed 10 billion people, yet a significant number still live in poverty and hunger. We can attribute this anormally to global warming and resulting climatic disasters as well as economics. For instance, due to drought and earthquakes many are devoid of food which is a basic commodity and eventually suffer from hunger and malnutrition. For example, Somalia has faced several droughts leading to poor harvest and food instability. Moreover, some people are resource-poor and therefore cannot access food that is healthy and fresh as it is expensive. Consequently, they do without.

Food security can be achieved by not only providing food aid to drought stricken areas but also providing irrigating systems that will mitigate the effects of drought. Thus people can enjoy improved crop yields. In addition, food should be made as a human right globally, thus ensuring that food manufacturers and governments alike provide food that is affordable to people.

In conclusion, innovations In agriculture such as irrigation systems can be utilised to counteract effects of drought and food can also be brought to people at affordable prices, thus ensuring that people can have access to the basic commodity.