Some people believe that employers should not be concerned about the way their employees dress, but the quality of their work. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In many occasion, dressing always be considered as a very important part. An employee who dress properly even be seen by its employers as a men with ability. I agree that one’s dressing tastes is important but it should not be the points that decide his or her employment.

On the one hand, appropriate dressing is essential in a professional setting. People should not be allowed to wear too casual clothes on formal occasions, especially some important meeting, in case that those colleagues who work with you will feel uncomfortable. Also, some people said that well-dressed workers can give benefits to workplace, if only for image reasons. Many employers believe that workers who dress uniform can more effectively communicate corporate image to investors or partners. So in many financial companies whose employees have regular face-to-face communication with customers, dress uniform is essential.

On the other hand, it is biased to judge the competence of employees only by their clothes. Professional capabilities and working efficiency are the primary condition on which interviewers make employment decisions. Actually, it is the skills and how well the worker can finish job that really dictates how much they can contribute to company. In contrast, those who only know how to dress well and impressively are not important. Moreover, paying too much attention to dressing might even affect workers’ concentration on work and decrease their working enthusiasm, which make matters worse.

To conclude, appropriate dressing is a minimal requirement for people who work in workplace. But the ability and working efficiency is more important than that.