Art classes, like painting and drawing, are not as important as other subjects, so some people think that it should not be a compulsory subject at high school. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Throughout history, it seems art plays an important role of mankind. Whether in ancient or modern society, art enlightens people, helps human to express emotions and provides spiritual enjoyment. Therefore, some people may argue that these courses deserve to be set as compulsory courses. I disagree with this opinion. Reaching the conclusion that art is significant is not equal to that art classes should be a mandatory part of high school curriculum.

First of all, art class is not essential for all the students, especially for students who aim at universities which do not require performance in art-related subjects for admission. These students prefer to focus on enhancing GPA or participating in social activities to prettify their curriculum vitae, therefore the class assignment, examination and attendance entailed by compulsory course obviously will add burden to students¡¯ study.

Secondly, not all the students will like to take art class or having talent in art. The truth is, everyone has his or her own hobbies. Some students may enjoy a beautiful painting or listening to a piece of music instead of drawing a picture or play a musical instrument themselves. Some other students may just enjoy reading literature or math books. So taking a compulsory art class may let them feel frustration. Moreover, unlike other compulsory class such as math, literature and history which have effect in shaping students¡¯ value system, art is more likely to help students relax and having fun. So it not necessary to put art as compulsory class.

In the conclusion, I believe art is not essential or suitable for all students, so it should not be compulsory for all the students. However, schools can still offer elective courses in drawing, singing for students who are interested in it.