Some people prefer to work for a large company. Others prefer to work for a small company. Which one would you prefer?

For many people, choosing an employer is an important thing which not only affect their life quality but also influence future career. Lots of graduates are hesitant of whether choosing big company or not. I tend to believe that every coin has its two sides, it has own merits and demerits. The important thing is to find the most appropriate one.

Firstly, many graduates who just leave university tend to have position in a small company. Obviously, new employees have more chance to promote to a higher office within a short term, since there are less competitions in a small company. Also, some people prefer to work in small company because of the lower pressure and less workload. However for those people who full of initiative, small companies just tie them up and hinder their further road to higher position, because an unknown company is impossible to provide big project or platform for its workers.

Secondly, lots of people dream to work in a famous company. The main reason for this is they believe it can provide more opportunities for development such as formal training or having international travels. Most of large company tend to train new workers before they enter. A truth is that acquiring new knowledge is beneficial not only for the employees, but also for the workplace. But working for a big company also means high pressure. Workers competitive against with competent peers every moment. They may feel anxious and depressed if they can’t get big project. That is the main reason for why many people quit office from big company.

To summarize, the important is to find your own style of work.