Some people believe that face to face communication is always more powerful than written communication. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement? Give your own opinion and include relevant examples.

Verbal communication is thought to be more impactful than non-verbal ones, such as writing. As powerful as oral communication can be, yet I firmly believe that written communication is capable of yielding that same effect.

With regard to several people's opinion, direct word exchange between people can create such influence on the listeners. Through verbal speeches, especially coming from celebrities or influencers, the general public's view about a certain subject can be reshaped and refined. Without empowering speeches coming from activists or politicians, it would take the majority of the public a long time to be informed about global crises, such as global warming, a widespread virus infection or economic corruption, etc, and their alarming rates. Thus, these speakers equip the listeners with sufficient knowledge and raise their awareness, as well as reformed their opinions about worldwide issues. Face-to-face communication occurs everywhere in a person's life, yet it can be life-changing and very inspirational. A piece of advice coming from a stranger, or an acquaintance can help an unemployed person get back on their feet and start their life again;even a small conversation with friends in a cafe can spark ideas and imagination to a novelist struggling with writer-block.

On the other hand, written communication, in my opinion, can also influence the readers as strongly as verbal communication. Written communication can be a substitution for oral communication in several scenarios, where the latter fails to convey the writer's intended meaning. Most of people feel embarrassed or frightened of confessing their loves to their loved ones, it is indeed impossible to express their feelings without sweating or stuttering. Hence, only writing a letter or texting can let them express themselves. Beyond that, written communication is reserved on a materialistic object, which makes several inspirational quotes more long-lasting in a person's memory. A sentence coming from a friend in a daily conversation can generate motivation for a person, as it has been discussed above. However, if that person does not hold on to that empowering sentence for long, it can be forgotten and they can forget what their goal is. If that sentence is in the form of a text or a letter, the person can always read the sentence again and again whenever they feel unmotivated or dreadful, to remind themselves what they are working hard for.

In the end, whether it is verbal communication or written communication, I think that with a wise selection of words and topics, both can be motivating and empowering to the target audience.