Some people believe that hobbies need to be difficult to be enjoyable.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Hobbies are considered essential for everyone, for they help them relieve their stress encountered during work. However, they are only perceived to be thrilling if they are challenging. I totally disagree with this as those are only causing danger to the players, and there are a wide range of worth-trying easy ones.

Attempting challenging recreational activities is nothing but putting oneself into risks. Although the participants have taken safety warnings into account and taken several necessary precautions, many of them still involved in accidents. These not only leave permanent physical and mental scars on the players, but in more serious cases, make them lose their lives. To illustrate, a hunter, who is fond of capturing predatory animals, was found dead losing one arm; he was suspected to be killed by a tiger during hunting. Another instance is that an unskilled surfer was discovered almost drowned after being devoured by a giant wave. He then broke his leg and suffered from long-term phobia of waves. Hence, hard hobbies are nothing but dangerous.

Instead of preferring such life-threatening activities, there are plenty of activities which I believe to be easy but enjoyable, one of which is photography. Not only does it not cause any accidents, those whose hobbies are photo taking will have a wide range of magnificent pictures for their collection. Apart from that, sports are also constituted a fun but less risky activity for participants. Their rules are generally easy to understand, and some sports such as soccer and hockey have players to take part in teams. This makes sport matches more exciting and stimulates teamwork – a positive quality in people.

In conclusion, simple hobbies can also bring excitement to those taking them; moreover, they are not dangerous at all. So, in my opinion, it is better for people to choose something fun but not risky.