Some people believe that it is good to share as much information as possible in scientific research business and the academic world Others believe that some information is too important or too valuable to be shared freely Discuss both the views and give o

In this modern era, sharing information is something that is commonly done between people. Some people opine that it is acceptable to share information where others opine that information should be protected. I completely agree with both views and will explain the reasons.

On the one side, information should be shared to help others progressing. Some people may need information that we have in order to accomplish something. Hence, if we share these information to them, they will be able to get what they want to achieve. For instance, a thesis advisor has done research in the same topic with what her thesis student chooses. In order to help her thesis student to finish her thesis, she shared the information about her research as a reference. Consequently, this information has helped her thesis student to finish his thesis faster.

On the other hand, protecting information that we have is also important. This is because, some information are not easily obtained. Thus, it is best to protect them to respect the owner of the information and to maintain the value of an information. For example, someone has done a research about the effect of playing games to working performance among Canada employees. Because the information about this topic is still rare and he did that research with a lot of efforts, he wants to protect this information by making this journal a paid-version journal. Then those who are really interested about this information can pay and read about his journal, so the information won't be shared carelessly.

In conclusion, I agree that sharing information is good because it can help others progressing while protecting information is also necessary because some information are not easily acquired.