Some people believe that it is good to share as much information as possible in scientific research, business and the academic world. Others believe that some information is too important or too valuable to be shared freely. Discuss both these views and g

In this era of freedom of speech and democracy, restricting information for the sake of vague public security and national importance seems quite irrational to many when others opine that information should be available only when the authority deem them suitable for access. Both parties have their reasons for arguments and I personally believe that scientific study, academic arena and business can be greatly benefitted if all information is made open to them.

To begin with, sensitive information that could penetrate state security, lead to public outcry, hand over technologies to terrorist groups and facilitates corporate monopoly in trade sector deserves to be scrutinized before making them accessible. In this digital era, information spread like wildfire and for the sake of maintaining global peace, they should be delimited, according to many. For instance, if the nuclear technology is shared with all nations for scientific study, the world will soon stand on the verge of obliteration, despite an inconceivable possibility this technology possesses to facilitate the citizens.

On the contrary, scientific research largely depends on available data and previous discoveries. If valuable information and past findings are not shares openly to academics and researchers, the global progress will standstill. For instance, the Internet is probably the most significant invention the modern world has produced and if this technology had not been shared by the US military, we would still be living in the pre-internet era. Moreover, the curbed information has no value if they are not implemented in the real world and thus curbing them is like slaughtering the potential for progress. Finally, world history suggests that the human race has advanced due to discoveries and inventions shared with the world as each finding went through profound modification and advancement. I thus personally favour the free information for all.

In conclusion, information has limited value when they are curbed and not shared with great minds. For the true global progress, restriction on valuable information should be debarred and let people know the truth instead of keeping them in dark.