Some people believe that it is the responsibility of individuals to take care of their own health and diet. Others however believe that governments should make sure that their citizens have a healthy diet. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Increasing number of hearth diseases among the population alarm modern society to live healthier. Undoubtedly, diet is the key to prevent many so called "population diseases". Although some people believe that authorities should encourage people to live and eat healthy, I, however, believe that it is about individuals.

Over decades we have been proven that power of government to encourage people living healthier failed. Take tabacco and cigarets for example. Proportion of printed warning on cigaret's packs increased in last couple years, and almost did not leave space to promote a brand. People are warn by realistic pictures of deadly sick individuals of harm caused by smoking, however, number of people smoking remained the same. Another way should be putting higher tax on junky food. However, making goods more expensive will not be a solution to tackle problem of obesity followed by population diseases. For instance, organic food. Since organic products reached grocery stores, their price remained exorbitantly high and people still buying them, even more than ever before.

On the other hand, I believe that live healthy is individual's decision and effort. Nowadays, many people have wide range of food allergies and as a result of this, they should be allowed to choose a diet which suits them the most. For instance, weight lifters. People who exercise in the gym and burning vast amount of calories twice a day, will not be able to balance their energy and nutrient's intake by diet which might be accurate to someone who wants to loose weight. Furthermore, promoting specific food such as avocado, bananas, milk and other, may not be suitable to every one, despite its merits.

In short, although authorities should make some steps to promote healthy lifestyle, therefore, on balance, I believe that choosing diet and how to live is an individual decision.