Some people believe that the media, such as the press, TV and Internet should be more strictly controlled. Are you for or against this view.

In this day and age, social media which is worldwide covered consists of many types of contents and topics. Its diversity has been a matter of concern thus it is believed that the media should be under strict surveillance. From my perspective, this belief is partly true.

In addition to positive and constructive content for the betterment of society, there exist many other negative matters which are the reasons why cyberspace should be tightly censored. Adverse impact on the children is the first explanation. In other words, the young generation may expose to violent content, anti-Communist Parties of Vietnam propaganda or pornographic material on television channel or the internet, making them have erroneous thoughts. For instance, recently in Vietnam, many violent and obscene videos were released on youtube, turning many children into fans of bad influencers in society, even idolizing them, which was fortunately handled. Next, fake news is spreading constantly on social networking sites, resulting in panic in public. To explain, in order to boost ratings and earn profits quickly, many media houses often put out sensational affairs that likely make viewers have distorted viewpoints.

On the other hand, there are valid reasons why many critics believe that the government should control the mass media less and provide more rights to citizens to connect with various information on these digital gadgets. Take North Korea for example, people there must not access networking sites, their viewing contents are rigorously restricted by the authorities. This leads to one-way information circumstances and the residents are unlikely to know the other side of the world. Furthermore, social fairness and security would be ensured with a freer network. In more detail, people might easily condemn injustice done by irresponsible authorities, which was not possible before. Also, criminals can not be freely active when their images are spread on social networks, which makes it easy for citizens to proactively avoid and probably inform the police to arrest them.

To sum up, while it is true that regulations of the media should be incentivized, it is also beneficial to some extent to make a well-formed opinion on issues.