Some people believe that in order to reduce crimes, prisoners should be given longer prison sentences while some people think there are other alternative ways. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Committing a crime is the main subject of discussion among the public. The ways to treat offenders lead to an argument. Some people claim that add the time of serving a prison term is a sufficient method to prevent crime while it is believed by other supporters that there exist better treatments to criminals. In my opinion, leaving offenders in prison with a long time is not a good solution to deter crimes.

Admittedly, it is plausible that prison is a good deterrent to criminals. The limitation of freedom leads to the fear of breaking laws among people. In this situation, giving longer prison sentences could decrease the crime rate. Moreover, the crime record prevents people to find a decent job, especially for those who spend a long time in prison. They may become outdated when released. For example, it is difficult for criminals who had been in prison for nearly twenty years to use computers in modern society. Thus, finding a good job after spending a much longer time in prison is almost impossible nowadays. So citizens who realize this drawback could restrict themselves, and prevent breaking laws.

Although the above statement is acceptable, I still believe that many better solutions could be applied to reduce crimes. The main aim (of) putting criminals in prison is to give rehabilitation to them. Compared with just locking them for a long time, requiring offenders to repay their community is a better educational way. For instance, criminals could involve with educations of vocational training, and then use personal skills to improve the life quality of citizens who live in their communities. They could clean the street or work as a volunteer to talk with school groups. In this situation, offenders will not re-offend after receiving full training and rehabilitation. Thus, there will be a decrease in the crime rate for a long-lasting time.

In conclusion, the addition of prison sentences is an acceptable method to deter crime. However, I think there still have other more sufficient ways to decrease the crime rate, such as sending criminals to work.